Anglican Roman Catholic Covenant 2009

4 clergy On 29 May 1982, His Holiness Pope John Paul II became the first pontiff to travel to Canterbury Cathedral where he met with the Archbishop of Canterbury, Robert Runcie. On the second anniversary of this historical event Archbishops John Grindrod and Francis Rush signed a Common Declaration at St John's Cathedral in Brisbane, which highlighted the warm relationships that had existed between Anglican and Roman Catholic communities of the respective Dioceses of Brisbane over many years.

Common Declaration Photo Gallery

To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the signing of this Common Declaration and the joint Sesquicentenary of the Anglican and Roman Catholic Dioceses of Brisbane, a major ecumenical event took place at the Cathedral of St Stephen on Friday 29 May 2009. A Covenant was signed by Archbishops Phillip Aspinall (Anglican), John Bathersby (Roman Catholic) and Bishop William Morris (Roman Catholic, Toowoomba). The territory under the jurisdiction of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Toowoomba is contained within the Anglican Diocese of Brisbane. Warm relationships have continued to grow in both areas over the years and this Covenant is an expression of the commitment of all three communities to ecumenical friendship and cooperation.

Covenant document here

Covenant 2009 Photo Gallery

A resource to introduce the Covenant to parishes, schools and institutions was produced.

Covenant Parish Resource here

Covenant 2009 resources.